How many Kailash are there?

There are a total of 5 known Kailash in Hinduism, in which four Kailash are in India and one is in Tibet ,China all of which are famous for their sacred nature. According to various studies, these Kailash are considered a source for attaining salvation. These are the following—

Adi Kailash & Om Parvat

Adi Kailash is situated in the Himalayan mountain range in Pithoragarh and Dharchula. It is prominently known as Shiva Kailash, Baba Kailash, Chhota Kailash, and Jyolingkong Peak. In Indian history, there exist only eight mountains with the consciousness of ‘OM’ Symbol. Among these mountains, only one has been discovered till the date. The mountain is called Om Parvat. The elevation of Om Parvat is 6191 meters. In the context of the live experience of devotees,om Parvat is notable among the Himalayan mountain range because of the visible and miraculous impression of Om symbol and creates curiosity among the viewers. Also, Adi Kailash is a similitude of another sacred mountain, Mount Kailash.

Kinnaur Kailash

Kinnaur Kailash is located in the district of Kinnaur in the state of Himachal Pradesh in India. Kinnaur Kailash refers to a mountain which holds significance in Hindu mythology and each year, the number of pilgrims visiting from all over the world increases. People take on the Kinnaur Kailash Yatra to seek the darshan of the mountain. The Kinnaur Kailash stands 6050 meters high above the Himalayas of Kinnaur. Not only has the Kinnaur Kailash been discussed in Hindu mythology, but it also holds mythical importance in the lives of Buddhists all around the world. It is noteworthy to mention that the Kinnaur Kailash is quite different when compared to the Mount Kailash in Tibet. Travellers more often are not confused between the similar fact of distinction.

Shrikhand Kailash or Shrikhand Mahadev

Shrikhand Kailash is a 75 feet Shiva Lingam which is positioned at the top of the mountain. The mountain has an elevation of 5227 meters above sea level. Shrikhand is situated in Kullu district, Himachal Pradesh, India. Its parental range is the Himalayas. The trek for Shrikhand Kailash starts from Jaon Village in the Nirmand region of Kullu district. The yatra for Shrikhand Mahadev remains opens for only 15-20 days in the month of July throughout the year. It is considered as one of the five prominent abodes of Lord Shiva.

Kailash Mansarovar or Mount Kailash

Kailash Mansarovar, with an elevation of 6638 meters, is located in the Kailash range forming the Trans-Himalaya in the Tibet Autonomous Regions of China. It is considered as one of the holiest peaks in Asia. The mountain is surrounded by two lake namely Mansarovar Lake and Rakshastal Lake. Besides, these are two of the largest lakes in Asia. Not only this, Mount Kailash is a holy part of four different religions Hinduism, Bon, Buddhism, and Jainism. According to Hindu Mythology, Kailash Mansarovar is the place where Lord Shiva, along with his wife Parvati, sat in a state of meditation it is belived that once upon a time, Lord Shiva and Lord Indra swam in the mansarovar lake incarnation of swans.

Chamba Kailash or Manimahesh Kailash Peak

Manimahesh Kailash Peak is a mountain standing 5,653 meters high above the sea level. It is located in Chamba district in the state of Himachal Pradesh, India. Manimahesh is still a virgin peak because no mountaineer has yet successfully ascended the mountain. After the failure of ascending Manimahesh in 1968, the mountain worshipped as the holy mountain of Chamba. Because of the Shivalingam form of the Manimahesh Kailash, the mountain is also called the manifestation of Lord Shiva. As per legend, it is said that Lord Shiva had given rise to Manimahesh after he married Mata Parvati. According to the devotees, the mountain is holy and no one can climb it. Some locals believe that snakes, shepherds, and animals had tried to climb the mountain and they turned into stones. Devotees also believe that only blessed people can see the peak of the mountain, because, it is covered with clouds and it is considered as displeasure at Lord Shiva’s end.

« Previous

Next »

Looking for a
Adi Kailash Yatra Package

Brochure   Form

Talk To Experts


Talk To Experts


WOW !! You got Special Discount !
Claim in CODE on your mobile.